I am loved.

“I wouldn’t choose me first if
I was looking for a champion
In fact I’d understand if
You picked everyone before me
But that’s just not my story
True to who You are
You saw my heart
and made
Something out of nothing”

Saturday was Homecoming and it was one of those absolutely perfect days. Nothing spectacular happened. I was just surrounded by my littles and my best friend and my sisters and it was just perfect. (I looked good too! I had my red cowboy boots on and a blue dress! I felt great!) Then the next two days my self esteem was tested and my confidence shaken. All I wanted to was cry. So, I took a drive to Walmart to get some Tylenol for my headache and Francesca Battistelli’s song came on the radio and the lyrics were exactly how I was feeling. It was just the reminder I needed to hear.

“I don’t need my name in lights
I’m famous in my Father’s eyes
Make no mistake
He knows my name
I’m not living for applause
I’m already so adored
It’s all His stage
He knows my name oh, oh,
He knows my name oh, oh”

I forget that sometimes. I forget that I am not a mistake. I make mistakes but I am not a mistake. I am not perfect. Sometimes I am misunderstood. Sometimes I forget things. Sometimes I fall short to other’s expectations. Sometimes I don’t explain things as well as I want to. Sometimes I fumble with my words. Sometimes I wear my heart on my sleeve. Sometimes I am not as composed as I would like to be. Sometimes I am weak.

“He calls me chosen, free forgiven, wanted, child of the King,
His forever, held in treasure…
I am loved”

Lord, you are strong. You are strong enough to carry me. You are strong enough to carry all my baggage. You love me when I feel lost or unwanted or undervalued or misunderstood. I heard this quote that says “Whenever you feel unloved, unimportant, or insecure, remember to whom you belong.”

I was about to go to bed then I saw this video, which totally related to what I was thinking about today. In the video, Jefferson talked about Zephaniah 3:17.

“The Lord your God in your midst,
The Mighty One, will save;
He will rejoice over you with gladness,
He will quiet you with His love,
He will rejoice over you with singing.”

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that I remember that I am yours. I belong to you. I am your child. I am forever changed. I pray that I remember where I fail, you succeed. Thank you for being on the ground with me. Thank you for loving me in my struggle. I pray that I focus on your love. I pray that I keep my eyes on you. I pray for forgiveness for my shortcomings. I pray for guidance. I pray that you keep leading me. I pray that I follow you more. Thank you for reminding me that I need you. Thank you for never leaving me. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

