He knows.

The closer is gets to our birthday, the worse I feel. The anxiety I have built up towards that day is growing with each passing day. My best friend brought me a copy of this devotion last semester after Christopher left us that was simply titled: “Jesus Knows.” The devotion wasn’t long, but it was exactly what I needed and still need. I keep the copy in my bag so I can look at it when I need the reminder. The devotion said this: “Jesus tells us in John 16:33 we will suffer here. But here’s the best part: ‘I have conquered the world,’ He said. Whatever you’re going through, Jesus knows. He weeps with you and wants to hold you, Let Him.” How did she know this was exactly what I needed to hear? Because You knew. You have a hand on us even when we feel completely alone and useless.

“He Know, He Knows
Every hurt and every sting
He has walked the suffering
He Knows, He Knows
Let your burdens come undone
Lift your eyes up to the one
Who Knows
He Knows”

I’ve heard it said that You won’t bring us to anything that we can’t overcome, but I heard a counter argument to that I liked. The rebuttal stated that You will bring us to things we can’t handle so that we will come to You and give our burdens to You. So, we will lay our burdens down at the feet of the cross and let You save us.

At the end of the devotion is a prayer. “Father, thank you so much for the loved ones you have given us. May we love them well, and love you, in return.”

So, my prayer today is this: I wanna say thank you. Thank you for giving me people to love. Thank you for the time I did have and the memories I made. Thank you for knowing. Thank you for holding me. Thank you for sending people into our lives. Lord, I know I could not overcome anything alone. I know that I am weak and you are strong. I know that I need to lay my pain at your feet. I know that you are bigger than my suffering. Thank you for conquering all the pain and suffering in the world. Thank you for saving me. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for sending people to lift me back up and helping me look to you. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

