I love you this much.

“Invest in people who invest in you” is part 6 of the How to be Awesome series. I have step 6 on lock. Like I am totally good at this one. I know how to pick people. There is a quote from Oprah that says “Surround yourself with only people who are going to lift you higher.” When I was the sisterhood coordinator like almost two years ago, that quote was the theme for the retreat. Like I totally got this.

In the video, she says: “When you invest in people who invest in you, you are going to be rich. Rich in awesomeness. Rich in happiness. Rich in everything.” I wasn’t always good at this though. There were days, years even, when I surrounded myself with negative people. I let them control my life which wasn’t fair to them or me. When I got older I realized that there was no point to that. The only thing I was doing by being around these people was holding myself back from my full potential, from being happy. I was worth more than I was giving myself credit for. I am worthy of love. I am worthy of someone’s time and energy. I am worthy of compassion. I am worthy of joy. I am worthy of sincerity. I am worthy of forgiveness. You taught me that. Even if the whole wide world was against me, You would still be for me. You died for me!

“His arms were stretched out
As far as they’d go
Nailed to the cross
For the whole world to know

I love you this much
And i’m waiting on you
To make up your mind
Do you love me too?
How ever long it takes
I’m never giving up no matter what
I love you this much”

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that continue to invest in people who invest in me. I pray that I continue to surround myself with people who bring me closer to you. I pray that I continue to surround myself with people who build me up. I pray that I take Jimmy Wayne’s lyrics with me. I pray that I keep looking to you. I pray that I remember who much you love me. I pray that I remember that you died for me. I pray that I remember that your arms are open for me. I pray that I keep running to you. I pray that I continue to be in awe of you and your love. I pray that I share your love with others. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

