Let it go.

Part 5 of the How to be Awesome series is “Avoid the Comparison Trap.” She simply says “comparison ruins everything.” I probably need this message a little more than I would like to admit. (When I say a little, I really mean a lot.) She asks which part we fall into and fun fact, I fall into all three. (No matter how many times I say I’m perfect and put my cute little hand under my chin with a smile, the truth is I am far from it.) Comparison is something I struggle with.

1. “Comparing destroys confidence.”

Well that hit the nail on the head. I find myself looking for approval from others and making sure that I’m in line with what others are doing way too often. I need to learn to get approval from You, rather than others. I need to learn to seek permission and affirmation from You instead.

2. “Comparing zaps your happy.”

This one again was right on point. She talked about how comparing just sucked the happiness out of her in like 30 seconds or less and it wasn’t because she wasn’t happy for the other person or because she wanted what the other person had. It was simply because she was comparing the two. It’s not necessarily a jealously thing. I don’t want to be you or have what you have. I just see others doing amazing things and or being amazing and I want that too but I take that wanting feeling too far sometimes. She even realized how simply silly the whole thing was, that there was no point in making yourself unhappy by comparing. I realize this too, but sometimes I just get in a mood and no matter what I’m doing, someone is doing it better.

3. “Comparing ignores your unique talents and gifts.”

She talks about how she compares their strengths to her weaknesses and I totally do the same thing. I need to remember that You made me unique and for a purpose. I am the way I am for a reason. I do not have the skills and abilities that other people have, I have my own special talents. I need to remember that they are, in fact, gifts and given to me by You.

So, as usual my life is a soundtrack and here is today’s song:

“Let it go, let it go
And I’ll rise like the break of dawn
Let it go, let it go
That perfect girl is gone!

Here I stand
In the light of day
Let the storm rage on,
The cold never bothered me anyway!”

So, this is my prayer. I pray that I learn to leave the comparison trap(s). I pray that I learn to focus on you instead of comparing my life to others. I pray that I learn to let it go. I pray that I learn to stop letting comparison steal my happiness and confidence. I pray that I stop letting comparison take control over my life and stop me from sharing my gifts and talents. I pray that I become so focused on you that I don’t worry about comparing. I pray that I give the control to you instead of comparison. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

