Shake it off.

Part 2 of How to be Awesome is “Put Your Goals Before Your Pride.” She said that our pride was keeping us from reaching our full potential. That is so true! If you like something then go after it full heartily.

We can’t be afraid to try, to fail, to succeed. Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” There are always going to be people that don’t like you or like what you do. Negativity spreads like wildfire but so does positive energy. (I don’t know about you, but I like happy thoughts.) It is so easy to buy into the negative stuff and let our pride take the fall. We give up or change our minds and opinion based on what we think others will think of us. (Truth time: I am real bad at doing that sometimes.)

“But I keep cruising
Can’t stop, won’t stop moving
It’s like I got this music
In my mind
Saying, “It’s gonna be alright.”

‘Cause the players gonna play, play, play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate
Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake
I shake it off, I shake it off
Heart-breakers gonna break, break, break, break, break
And the fakers gonna fake, fake, fake, fake, fake
Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake
I shake it off, I shake it off”

God, you have a plan for us that is so much bigger than we could ever imagine. Sometimes negativity sinks in but we just have to “shake it off.” We have to be resilient and bounce back. We have to grow and continue to move forward. Dr. Suess said “those who mind, don’t matter and those who matter, don’t mind.” We just have to concentrate on you, Lord, and the rest will take care of itself.

So, that is my prayer. I pray that I learn to keep dancing along with Taylor Swift and “shake it off.” I pray that I learn to shake off the negative. That I learn to shake off my pride. I pray that I learn a little from Taylor Swift and how she focuses on the positive. I pray that I don’t let my pride come before you or my goals. I pray that I keep my eyes on you. I pray that I go after you and what I want whole heartily. I pray that I share your love with others. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

