I want to sing a song for You, Lord.

I stumbled upon this How to be awesome video by Alison Faulkner. It was just there on Pinterest like it was waiting for me to watch. The first video says “Get Started.” She talks about how if you like something “just do it.” She even specifically talked about blogs. I have always wanted to write for as long as I can remember. I tried to start in like middle school but that’s a rough age, to be honest. I would always give up because it wasn’t good enough. But in this video she says that the best way to learn is through the school of hard knocks and experience. The messages in her video were so basic. I completely related and understood. I kept thinking, where has this been my whole life? So thank you Alison, for reminding of the importance to just try. Plus her positive energy was just absolutely contagious. I love that all of the things she tried led her to one thing that finally clicked. Like each thing she tried taught her something new that eventually led to the thing she was successful at. Like it’s totally ok to fail because it teaches you something.

The video totally had me thinking. Then once again music started playing in my head. (Because what is life without a soundtrack?) It’s like my brain has this master playlist and it just plays exactly what I am thinking.

I want to sing a song for You, Lord
Lord, for You I want to sing a song
And I want to lift my voice to Heaven
And listen to the angels sing along

A song of Your faithfulness
A song of Your grace
And of Your loving kindness
To the glory of Your name
With everything that’s in me, Lord
Listen to me say
I want to sing a song for You
I want to sing a song

I want to live my life for You, Lord
Lord, for You I want to live my life
And I want to praise the name of Jesus
And Pray above all things You’re glorified

So this is my prayer today. I pray that I continue to just do it. I pray that I continue to pour my heart out to you. I pray that while I can’t sing a song for you like Third Day, I can write. I pray that I use the gifts you gave me. I pray that everything I do points only to you. I pray that while I stumble and fall and make mistakes, I keep writing for you. I keep going for you. I thank you for the courage to get started. I thank you for listening to me when I was scared to try. Thank you for making sure I was ready. Thank you for creating me. I pray that you keep pulling on my heart. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

