Help pour out the rain.

Today was one of those days where I just felt miserable for no reason. I just woke up on the wrong side of the bed and everything was down hill from there. Then tonight after chapter I went to the Deli for dinner and on the way back it started raining and my best friend says “Ohh the irony.” I thought she just had some joke that she remembered or something. I just moved on with the conversation and kept going. Then she said something else about the rain and asked if I wanted her umbrella when I walked back across the street to the house. I said “No, thanks. I like the rain.” She responded with “I know.” Then I was all like “oh my goodness, you’re talking about me when you said ‘Ohh the irony.” She was all like duh! I love that she knows me better than I know myself. She knew I was having a bad day and knew the moment it began raining what the rain would mean to me. The rain is my reminder of Christopher and God partying in Heaven.

After I said goodbye to my best friend and continued walking back to the house. Help pour out the rain started playing in my head. Mama, Daddy, and I used to watch Buddy Jewell and vote for him every week on Nashville Star so when he sang this song we were sold. We were all crying on the couch. (Daddy was ugly crying! He could hardly breathe. He likes to act all tough so don’t tell him I told you but he’s a total softy.)

The moment was custom made to order
I was ridin’ with my daughter on our way back from Monroe
An’ like children do she started playin’ twenty questions’
But I never would’ve guessed one could touch me to my soul

Like, “Daddy, when we get to Heaven, can I taste the Milky Way?
Are we goin’ there to visit, or are we goin’ there to stay?
Am I gonna see my Grandpa? Can I have a pair of wings?
An’ do you think that God could use another Angel
To help pour out the rain?”

So that is my prayer today. I want to say thank you for giving such a beautiful, talented, brilliant, encouraging, perfect best friend to remind me of your love. Thank you for blessing my life with her presence. Thank you for giving her the strength to pick me up when I fall. (Sometimes literally! I’m clumsy.) Thank you for your reminder that you are always taking care of me even on my bad days. Thank you for letting even the bad days end and giving me a new start tomorrow. I pray that you keep watching out for us. I pray that you keep reminding us that even on the bad days we can find joy. Thank you for putting people in our lives to remind of that. I pray that you let Christopher help pour out the rain. He would like that. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “Help pour out the rain.

Leave a Reply

