You never let go.

This time last year, Christopher and I were calling each other everyday. We were making plans. At the time, we felt invincible, like we could do anything. We sat up for hours just talking about our pasts and our futures. I had no idea how much everything was going to change in just a year. Now I am starting the new semester without him.

The past year broke me, but you were with me through everything. You were with me for way too many funerals. You were there when I lost a friend that helped me change my major and she helped impact my life without even knowing it. You were there a month later when I lost one of the best people I’ve ever known. Two months later you were with me again at my Grandma’s funeral. My family always picked on me that I was Grandma’s favorite and I didn’t realize how much that would mean to me now. You were with me when I was burnt out and felt completely defeated and worthless. You were with me when I let opportunities go and friends move on without me. You were there when I had to fight to make it through the day.  I faced more than I thought possible. Every time I thought I couldn’t move forward I was reminded that “you never let go.”

“When waters rise
And hope takes flight
Oh, my soul
Oh, my soul
Oh, my soul

Ever faithful
Ever true
You I know
You never let go
You never let go
You never let go
You never let go”

I also realized you were there for all the good times. You were there when I got new amazing jobs with wonderful people. You were there when I was elected President. You were there when my brother graduated. You were there when my best friend got engaged and my other best friend celebrated her first wedding anniversary. You were with me when I had my highest semester gpa since starting college. You were there when I got my first apartment this summer. You were there when so many little things happened. You were there through the laughter. You were there through the joy.

So, my prayer today, is to thank you for never letting go. You were with me through the good and the bad. I have lost so much this year. I have also gained a lot. I have learned more than I thought possible. My eyes were opened this year. Thank you for everything you have done for me. Thank you for saving me. I pray that I keep leaning on you and trusting you. I pray that I use the David Crowder Band’s song to guide me and remind me that you are always here. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

