Lay it down.

“If you get lost in your sorrows
Then you could hit rock bottom
But if you smile in face of trivial things
And you learn to pray when you wanna complain
Stand up straight when the Earth is shaking
And just breathing when you feel afraid

Those problems you’re worried about
They can’t keep you from living now
When you shake ‘em off and lay ‘em down, down, down
At the cross where your freedom’s found
Oh You can stand up no matter what
March on when times are tough
Be strong and don’t give up
All you need now
Is to shake ‘em off and lay ‘em down
At the cross where your freedom’s found”

The new semester is officially is in full swing. Classes have begun and recruitment starts tomorrow. This is where lists comes into play. (As you know, I love lists!) I made a three page to-do list last night with everything that I still need to get done this week. I could not be more excited! With so much going on, it’s easy to get overwhelmed. So, this year I am going to practice giving it all to you before I get too stressed. I am going to be proactive with my prayer. I am on my knees, laying everything down at the feet of the cross.

I have the most amazing sisters that remember to check on me. When I was driving back to Mobile, on Sunday, after church, I had three sisters call me just to make sure my drive was going well. I could not be more blessed to have them in my life. I forget to take care of myself sometimes and forget to take a second to enjoy life. Last year was pretty rough to say the least, but even the darkest days had some bright spots. Every time I started to feel like I would crumble, they picked me up and reminded me to lean on you.

So, that is my prayer. Lord, I am giving it all to you. I am laying it down at your feet. I pray that I remember that you love me and protect me. That your plan is bigger than my own. Thank you for putting so many wonderful people in my life. Thank you for giving me sisters that support and encourage me. Thank you for guiding my life and being the light on my path, showing me the way. I am so grateful for all you have done for me. I pray that I lean on you. I pray that I have faith in you and in your plan. You hold my life in your life hands and I pray that you keep molding me into the person I am meant to be. I pray that I shine a light right back to you. I pray that I follow you and you lead me where you want me to go. I pray that I remember Sanctus Real’s lyrics this week. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

