Make a wave.

“Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

I have always loved this quote and have tried to practice it. I fall short sometimes, probably more often than I would like to admit. I complain about whatever is going on in my life that isn’t as picture perfect like I thought it would be. But I think we are called to lead by example. I think if we want to see a change then we must start changing. When you ride a plane they tell you to put your mask on first. I think that applies to more than just when we’re on the plane. I think we have to make the change in ourselves first. I think that nothing is ever going to happen if we sit back and wait on it.

“Just a pebble in the water (ohh)
Can set the sea in motion (ohh)
A simple act of kindness (ohh)
Can stir the widest ocean
If we show a little love
Heaven knows what we could change (oh yeah)
So throw a pebble in the water (oh yeah)
And make a wave, make a wave
Make a wave, make a wave”

I think you place us right where you want us Lord. I think everything happens for a purpose, for your purpose. I think it is incredibly important that we surround ourselves with people that support us and encourage us but it is equally important for us to do the same for others. I think too often we try to stay in our own little bubble. I know I try to. I like safe. I like security and there isn’t anything wrong with that but I think it is important for us to be the person running the lighthouse right in the heart of the storm showing the way to you. You are the light that guides me home but sometimes I think it is important to share that light you gave us. I heard one time, “If you had the cure to cancer would you share it?” They were trying to explain that we had you and how we were saved but we weren’t sharing it. I think you created each and every one of us to be used for your glory.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that you use me. I thank you for putting me right where you want me. I thank you for creating a purpose in me. I thank you for guiding me. I thank you for leading me. I thank you for putting the right people in my life to support me. I hope I support them as much as they support me. I pray that I share your light with those around me. I pray that I am that pebble in the ocean. I pray that you use me for your glory. I pray that you use me to bring others to you. I pray that you use me to help those around me. I pray that I encourage others and lift them up to you. I pray that you keep molding me and changing me. I pray that you keep working on my heart. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

