Let the glory of the Lord rise among us!

This afternoon when I called my daddy, he was like, “Guess who I get to see this weekend?” I had no idea! Then he said the name of my favorite person in the whole wide world: Mr. George W. Bush! I literally screamed!! Then he told me all about the Lifeway Men’s Conference that he is going to and that he is going to be the main speaker. I was still screaming at this point. I was so excited and I’ll admit it, totally jealous. I can only imagine how wonderful that conference is going to be. Pandora as usual is spot on and playing “Let it rise” by Big Daddy Weave.

“Let the glory of the Lord
Rise among us
Let the glory of the Lord
Rise among us
Let the praises of the King
Rise among us
Let it rise”

Every single president’s project I did growing up was on Mr. George W. Bush. I admire his giving heart so much. I literally cry every year when I read about his bike ride for the Warrior 100K, a three-day bike ride to honor service members injured in Afghanistan and Iraq. I haven’t been on a bike since I was like 13 when my daddy tried to teach me how to ride and failed. (That whole balance and trust thing was not my strong suit.) Maybe I should get back on and try again. It’s never too late to learn right?

9/11 happened when I was in the 4th grade. I can remember exactly where I was sitting in class. I have never been more scared. I have also never felt more American and proud of my country and it’s leaders. The speech that Mr. George W. Bush made will stay with me forever. We had a prayer service at school after that and I remember singing Amazing Grace and all these patriotic songs and feeling so sad for the loss that America had just endured. Mr. George W. Bush did the impossible, he was the leader during one of the worst tragedies that this country has faced and with the utmost grace and compassion he picked us up and put us back together. He showed us hope and strength through Christ. He closed the speech with: “And I pray they will be comforted by a Power greater than any of us, spoken through the ages in Psalm 23: Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil for you are with me.” I saw people turn to God in a big way. I saw more prayers and more giving and love than any other time in my life.

So, today my prayer is for the conference. I pray for safe travels for everyone in attendance. I pray that they come with open hearts and feel closer to you after the weekend. I pray they take what they learn and share it with the world. I pray that they take Big Daddy Weave’s song with them. I pray for that they may shine light for you everywhere they go. I pray for the hotel staff, conference staff, and all the unsung heroes that help make conferences so wonderful. I pray for the town of Nashville, Tennessee where the conference is being held. I pray that you put your hands on Mr. George W. Bush, Mrs. Laura Bush and their family. I pray that you use him to speak for you and bring others closer to you. I pray that I continue to use what Mr. George W. Bush taught me when I was 10 years old in that 4th grade classroom. I pray that you guide him and protect him. I pray that you use him for your glory. I pray that I continue to lean on you and trust you. I pray that I continue to let you lead my life. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

