It’s time for us to do something.

Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.

Today my friend, Mariah, told me this is her favorite verse. I have been thinking about the verse all day and how important it is to encourage and uplift those around you. I think too often we forget to take care of each other. We forget that we have no idea what battles other people are facing. We forget to be understanding and have compassion. We forget to cherish those around us. We forget to put our own issues aside for a minute and realize we are not the only ones having a rough time.

“So, I shook my fist at Heaven
Said, ‘God, why don’t You do something?’
He said, ‘I did, I created you’

If not us, then who
If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something”

So, with a heavy and willing heart, I pray for peace. I pray for love. I pray that you heal the hearts of those struggling. I pray they lay their trouble at your feet. I pray that they know you are strong enough to handle all their pain. I pray they surrender it all to you. I pray you change my heart and attitude. I pray that you open my eyes to those around me. I pray that you continue to burden my heart and let me know I am called do something. I pray that I apply Matthew West’s song to my life. I pray you never let me forget that I am yours. I pray that you use me. I pray you keep knocking on my heart. I pray that I remain eager to do your will. I pray that my passion for you continues. I pray I remember that I am created for a purpose. I pray that I remember that “I can do better and I have the responsibility to try.” I pray I am reminded often that what I say and do affects others. I pray I remember to be uplifting and supportive. I pray that I surround others with so much love that their day is just a little better. I pray that I share your light with everyone around me. I pray that I learn to show more kindness and have more compassion for others. I pray that I share your love and grace. I pray that you never stop working on my heart. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

